We have arrived at El Nido, Palawan for a part of our family get away. It was April 14, 2017. We will be here until April 16, 2017. We have successfully endured a 6 hour drive from Puerto Princesa to this place. After our lunch, we all fell asleep. After that, not much has happen. Still enjoying except for some glitches which is part of the adventure. One of the things that I am looking for right now is the church to attend to this coming Sunday. By the way, I am writing this on a Good Friday’s evening.

I am not well versed with Rovics Hotel where we are staying right now. But, it doesn’t have a strong cable service and it has weak Internet connection. Even the outlets seem weak. That is just my first observation so please bear with me. I will throw the dirt first so the good side will have to be unquestioned. Some of what I have observed are the doors, the glass doors, the hand rails and the design of the steel guards and the bathroom locks.

What I observed…


The first thing that greets you at the lobby is a sign that reads “Sorry, no Wi-Fi access”. I might be a thing in the island itself. There are times that we can have Wi-Fi but we have to be at the lobby just to have connection. When we got to our room, the room was ok, by the aircon remote needs replacement. The TV and the remote seems to be uncoordinated with each other. You have to press the on button at least twice, or more, just to open it. Then you will only have few channels to choose from unless you specifically know what channel you want. The veranda is great but the steel guard needs to be modified because toddlers can climb over the steel guards due to its steps.


There is the restroom lock issue too. The hotel management might have found that changing the locks are too expensive so they just added some lock on the door. The water pressure is weak, given that it is an island so I ignore it. But it has a foul smell, that I am not sure where it comes from. The door to the veranda can also be opened by my 2 year old kid if he forces it. Lock not secured.


Breakfast buffet is great, except for their milk in a box that causes mess. The milk is used for coffee but they could’ve bought a milk dispenser or something to avoid the unnecessary spills.


Before leaving for our island hopping, I asked that our room be cleaned. When we got back from our whole day activity and was already inside the room, I noticed that the floor was somehow wet and sticky. There were new towels but the ones I placed on the floor are still there and they hung it. It took over an hour for the floor to be completely dry. Which is not good because by then, kids have already run to and fro and dirt already sticks to their feet which they also be putting in bed.


I also don’t know if it is a normal practice that when guests are out for a scheduled island activities and they will check out that day, the staff would just take the guests bags and put it at the lobby. Maybe they can modify this practice because we had to rinse too to remove the sand off of us and change clothes. We did so on their pension house that has a really weak water pressure that you can’t use the shower.



Now the good part… 

hmmm. Not sure. There must be something but I guess I was too busy enjoying the island activities that I didn’t noticed it. 

Leave a Reply

