A PLDT Story

Dear Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co.,

It was a fine January 26, 2016 day, our internet has been disconnected because of delayed payment. I get that. I was wishing I can do something immediately and pay our bill but no, it wasn’t meant to be.

My mother finally was able to gather some two thousand pesos (P2000) and she went to the PLDT Office and paid the necessary amount. The payment was made at 2:41 pm according to the receipt. By 4pm, we still have no internet service. I called PLDT through 171 and guess what, the wait time to get a live rep is 10 minutes. Then I got a hold of a rep who said that the payment has not posted yet. I told her that it was not our problem anymore because a payment has already been made. I requested a manager and before I can speak to a manager, I have waited again for more than 10 minutes. And yes, I already fell asleep while waiting. Plus, my lower back was too painful now because I was already standing for more than 30 minutes when I decided to lie down on our long chair.

Here comes the manager. He said that he is now looking at their technical team to activate our account. And guess what, I have waited for 10 minutes before I hang up due to the pain on my lower back. The PLDT manager called me after a while and said that there is an issue with activations, so pissed that I just hang up.

PLDT… they will quickly disconnect your service but will wait for customers to beg, BEG, for the service to be restored. They have already manipulated their customers for years! And yet, this is how their service is to the Filipino people. Slow, expensive, irritating, incompetent. Then the only thing they will say to you, “we apologize for any inconvenience…” they will not compensate you for the 1 day loss.

How I wish that there would be another player somewhere who can give us Filipinos better service, something that’s worth the money we pay for. Not just 3MPS of speed but a decent speed. We pay almost P2000 a month for a slow, incompetent, expensive internet.

Leave a Reply

